Community Events Calendar

Produced by groups or individuals for a variety of purposes, Community events must receive official approval from the NYS Parks Office. To apply for a permit to hold an event at Walkway State Park please see Book an Event

 

 

APRIL 2014


 
Saturday, April 12--3rd Annual Hand in Hand 5K Maplebrook School 10:00 a.m.
 
Super fun 5K run and scenic walk over the Hudson
"A run with a view!"
 
Pre-register by March 28th to get a great Stay Dry T-Shirt in your size*
*T-shirts for Runners Only
 
Registration for the race begins at 8:30 a.m.
Actual Race/Walk begins at 10:00 a.m.

 
Sunday, April 13--Community Development

 
Friday, April 25--Rite Aid Walk
2:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Entrance from West approach
 
Rite Aid Pharmacy locations in Hudson Valley District 2511 invite everyone from the Hudson Valley and beyond to participate in their 2nd Annual Walk the Walkway fundraiser for Maria Fareri Children’s Hospital at Westchester Medical Center. The family-friendly fundraising event, which consists of a casual stroll across one of the most scenic stretches in the entire Hudson Valley, occurs at the Walkway Over the Hudson Historic Park, on April 25, 2014 from 2:00pm to 6:00pm, with the start and group base located on the Highland, New York, side of the Walkway. Commemorative t-shirts will be handed out to the first 100 participating donors.

To learn more about the Walk the Walkway event, including how participants can support Rite Aid’s CMN campaign or how to support advanced children’s healthcare in the region, all are encouraged to contact Allison DellaPorte at (845) 255-5307.



 
Sunday, April 27--Annual Parkinson's Awareness "Walk Over Water" 1:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
 
The Annual Parkinson's Awareness "Walk Over Water" will begin at the East Entrance of the Walkway. For more information regarding this event, please click here
 

April 27, 2014 - 10:00 a.m.
Flag Changing 
845-454-9649

MAY 2014


Friday, May 2--Breast Cancer Awarness Information and Brochures
Entrance from East approach
 

 
Friday, May 2--National Alliance Mental Illness Ribbon Cutting 
 
The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) is the nation's largest national grass-roots advocacy group for individuals suffering from mental illness and their loved ones. The ribbon cutting will take place at the East Entrance of the park.
 
For more information regarding the event, please click here

 
Saturday, May 3--I Love My Parks Day

 
Sunday, May 4--National Alliance Mental Illness (NAMI) Awareness Walk 10:00 a.m - 2:00 p.m.
 
NAMI Mid-Hudson along with the Dutchess County Chamber of Commerce invite you to walk with us to incerase awareness and help continue in our goal of "Changing Attitudes...Changing Lives." The NAMI Awareness Walk will begin at the East Entrance of the park.
 
For more information regarding this event, please visit NAMI Mid-Hudson or the NAMI Facebook Page

 
Monday, May 5--Law Enforcement Unity Ride

 
Saturday, May 10--Annual Walk for Celiac Disease
9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
 
For information regarding this event, please click here

 
Saturday, May 10--Skyfest and Member Moonwalk
8:00 p.m. - 10 p.m.

 
Saturday, May 17--Annual Aids Walk
10:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
 
Walk will begin at the East Entrance of the park.  For more information regarding the event, please click here.

 
Sunday, May 18--Annual March of Dimes 10:00 a.m.
 
We're getting ready to walk in March for Babies! It promises to be a fun day out with people who share our passion for improving the health of babies. There'll be family teams, company teams and people walking with friends - it's a great feeling knowing we're all helping real families.  Join our event and walk with us to raise money for babies right here in our community!
 
Registration begins at the East Entrance of the park at 9:00 a.m.
 
For more details and information, please click here.

 
May 25, 2014 - Evening (Exact Time TBA)
Flag Changing 
845-454-9649
 

Saturday, May 31--The Christine Spinney Memorial Walk for Recovery
11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

JUNE 2014


Sunday, June 1--3rd Annual World Record Attempt



 

Friday, June 6--Path through History
Poughkeepsie & Highland approaches
845-454-9649 for more information

Saturday, June 7--Family Promise Walk for Homeless Families
10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 8--Bike Rodeo
Poughkeepsie & Highland approaches
(845) 454-9649 for more information

Friday, June 13--Path through History & Member Moonwalk

Saturday, June 14--Treetops to Rooftops 5K
5:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.
Race begins at 8:00 a.m.

June 22, 2014 - 12:00 Noon
Flag Changing
845-454-9649

Sunday, June 29--Bike New York

 


 

JULY 2014


Friday, July 4--Fourth of July Fireworks Spectacular
Begins at Dusk
Bike Parade and Decorating Contest
845-454-9649 for info and tickets

Saturday, July 5--Balloon Festival
Begins at Sunrise

July 13, 2014
Flag Changing
845-454-9649

July 13, 2014
Member Moonwalk
845-454-9649

AUGUST 2014


August 10, 2014

Member Moonwalk845-454-9649


August 17, 2014 - 12:00 Noon

Flag Changing 
845-454-9649

Sunday, August 31--Cerebal Palsy of Ulster County
 

SEPTEMBER 2014


Thursday, September 4--National Wildlife Day-Bird Walk
845-454-9649

Saturday, September 6--Villa Veritas Foundation
12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

September 10, 2014
Member Moonwalk
845-454-9649

Saturday, September 13--2014 Taconic Resources for Independence
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Entrance from the West approach

Sunday, September 14--Walk Across the Hudson for Gun Sense

Saturday, September 20--Alzheimer's Association Walk
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 21--Walkway's Fifth Year Anniversary Celebration Marathon
845-454-9649 for more information

September 21, 2014 - 12:00 Noon

Flag Changing 
845-454-9649

Friday, September 26--Starry Starry Night Gala
Invite Only
845-454-9649

Saturday, September 27--Prostate Cancer Walk (Premier Cares Foundation)
9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 28--Out of the Darkness Community Walk
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

OCTOBER 2014


Sunday, October 5--Dog Adoption & Awareness Day

9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

Offering agility contest, pet/owner look-a-like contest, dog adoptions, games for kids, valuable information about vaccinations and clean water from Veterinarians and more.

Contact: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


October 8, 2014

Member Moonwalk

845-454-9649

 


Friday, October 10--Walk to Stop Domestic Violence

 

10:30 a.m. start

Entrance from the West approach


Saturday, October 11--2014 Hudson Valley Food Bank
9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

www.foodbankofhudsonvalley.org

 


 

October 12, 2014 - 12:00 Noon

Flag Changing 
845-454-9649

Saturday, October 18--Pancreatic Cancer Walk
5:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 19--ALS Walk
6:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 25--Make a Difference Day

Sunday, October 26--Halloween Parade

Sunday, October 26--Historian Walk for Members

Friday, October 31--Halloween Parade

NOVEMBER 2014 


Saturday, November 1--Pumpkin Squash

 


Sunday, November 2--Autism Walk

 

9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

 


 

Wednesday, November 5--Celebration of Lights

845-454-9649

 


 

Saturday, November 8--Council on Addiction and Education Run

TIME TBD



 

Sunday, November 9--North East Kidney Foundation

8:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.

www.healthykidneys.org

 


 

November 16, 2014 -12:00 Noon

Flag Changing 
845-454-9649

Friday, November 28--Santa Visits
1:00 p.m.

DECEMBER 2014

 


 

Friday, December 5--Fesitval of Lights


December 14, 2014 - 12:00 Noon

Flag Changing 
845-454-9649
Unable to get map center coordinates, please verify your location! (*November 24, 2013- Friends of Jackson House 1:00-3:00 Faebook.com/friendsofjacksonhouse)
Preloaded nav hover image Preloaded sidebar hover image Preloaded contact form hover image